Credit: Darrow Montgomery

We know D.C. Get our free newsletter to stay in the know.

Success! You're on the list.

Happy election night, D.C.! The journey has felt long—and things only really kicked off last October—but tonight, we can finally expect some results. Along the way, we’ve parsed the ethics of tearing down campaign signs, learned a lot about education reform and the Democrats funding it, and considered what it means to be “actively engaged” as an attorney. Ah, memories.

In-person voting ends tonight at 8 p.m. and the D.C. Board of Elections expects to have an online results page live around then. Some campaigns are gathering to watch results come in—Loose Lips Alex Koma will be hitting the party circuit and filing dispatches throughout the evening, as will managing editor Mitch Ryals and staff photographer Darrow Montgomery. This post will be updated as results come in, so keep up with us here and on Twitter.

10:33 p.m.

And the race for attorney general is over. Bruce Spiva has conceded to AG Karl Racine‘s anointed pick, Brian Schwalb. “Together, we spread a message of equity, and justice, in our effort to lift every voice here in Washington, D.C., and that is something to be proud of. Our work does not end here,” he said in a released statement. I guess name-dropping the 44th president wasn’t as effective as he thought it would be.

10 p.m.

That’s it on Ward 1. Incumbent Councilmember Brianne Nadeau told supporters at her results party that her closest challenger, Salah Czapary, called to concede the race. Despite a spirited push leading up to election day, Czapary trails Nadeau by more than 1,500 votes as of the latest count.

9 p.m.

More results! More projections! With nearly 78,000 total votes counted, Bonds, Mendelson, and Schwalb continue to lead their opponents in the at-large, Council chair, and attorney general races. On the ward level, Matthew Frumin has pulled ahead of Goulet by 700 votes in Ward 3. Nadeau and Parker continue to lead in Wards 1 and 5.

The Post has called the Ward 5 and the Council chair races for Parker and Mendelson, as well as the delegate race for Eleanor Holmes Norton.

8:45 p.m.

It looks like D.C. won’t have a new mayor after all. The Associated Press has called the race for Mayor Bowser less than an hour after polls closed. Based on results from 11 percent of registered voters, she leads her closest challenger, At-Large Councilmember Robert White, by more than 10,000 votes.

8:24 p.m.

We’ve got the first results of the night! Mayor Muriel Bowser leads the mayoral race, Brian Schwalb leads the attorney general race, Anita Bonds leads the at-large Council race, and Council Chairman Phil Mendelson is ahead in his bid for re-election. On the ward level, Councilmember Brianne Nadeau, the incumbent, is ahead in Ward 1, Eric Goulet is up in Ward 3, and Zachary Parker is up in Ward 5.

8:17 p.m.

The most recent results from the D.C. Board of Elections website are from 2020. Looks like it’s going to be a long night.

Screenshot from the D.C. Board of Elections website showing campaign results from 2020 on Primary Election Night 2022.