Argentinian pianist Guillermo Klein‘s Sextet will be appearing at Library of Congress‘ Coolidge auditorium this Friday, February 29, at 8p.m.

The show is free: Reserved tickets for the concert are available through Ticketmaster (if you don’t mind paying the service charge), or you can just show up early for free seating.

Here’s what Ben Ratliff wrote about Klein in the New York Times:

His jazz, if you want to call it that, is built from the ground up, starting with ideas about instrumentation, then rhythm, then harmony, then gesture. In one of his large ensemble sets, there could be brass choirs, Cuban rhythm, fugue-like passages, talking, whistling, mechanical repetitions over a groove, and bits of aerated rock.

And here’s what I’ve written about Ben Monder, the Sextet’s excellent guitarist (in a duo setting and in Paul Motian‘s band).

Guillermo Klein: piano, vocals
Bill McHenry: saxophone
Ben Monder: guitar
Matt Pavolka: bass
Jorge Rossy: piano, drums
Richard Nant: trumpet

6:15 pm: Pre-concert conversation with Guillermo Klein and Larry Appelbaum in the Whittal Pavilion.

For details, contact (202) 707-2329.