Baltimore’s Human Bell—seen here performing at the Adams Morgan record store Crooked Beat—just announced a national tour with Japan’s Boredoms, a band that Washington City Paper’s Aaron Leitko described as the most bizarre “ever to have graced the roster of a major label.”

Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band might dispute that claim, but I can say for certain that the Boredoms are one of the top-five best live acts I’ve ever seen (Brown’s Island, in 1994, with Sonic Youth and Superchunk).

Human Bell is Dave Heumann, frontman of Arbouretum, and Nathan Bell, best known as bassist for Lungfish. According to both bands’ label, Thrill Jockey, the Boredoms “handpicked” them for this tour.

Here are the dates. Alas, no DC:

Mon Mar 10 Lousiville, KY Ear X-Tacy (in-store) Wed Mar 12 Dallas, TX Good Records (in-store) w/ Kid Dakota Thur Mar 13 Marfa, TX TBA Sat Mar 15 San Diego, CA Canes w/Boredoms Sun Mar 16 Los Angeles, CA Family (in-store) Sun Mar 16 Los Angeles, CA Henry Fonda Theater w/Boredoms Mon Mar 17 San Luis Obispo, CA Boo Boo Records (in-store) Tue Mar 18 San Francisco, CA The Fillmore Auditorium w/Boredoms Thu Mar 20 Portland, OR Crystal Ballroom w/Boredoms Fri Mar 21 Seattle, WA Neumos w/Boredoms Sat Mar 22 Anacortes, WA Department of Safety w/ Mt. Eerie, Photosynthesis Mon Mar 23 Missoula, MT The Palace (Badlander downstairs, free show) Tue Mar 25 Minneapolis, MN First Avenue w/Boredoms Wed Mar 26 Chicago, IL Congress Theater w/Boredoms, Soft Circle Thu Mar 27 Chicago, IL AV-Erie

The Boredoms will be at the 9:30 Club on April 3rd