We know D.C. Get our free newsletter to stay in the know.

After 19 years, nine records, and “Bro Hymn,” Jim Lindberg has split from the SoCal skate-punk group Pennywise for reasons unmentioned possibly to write a book.

Remaining band members Fletcher Dragge, Byron McMackin, and Randy Bradbury have this to say about the departure:

“The band has always been about moving forward in life no matter what obstacles stand in front of you. We will begin our search for a new singer immediately. We will continue to tour the world and we are looking forward to writing new music. We’ve had a lot of good times and survived the hard times thanks to the undying support of our fans. We’re looking forward to what the future may bring.”

Mark Jenkins wrote about Pennywise in 1995, observing that “the Hermosa Beach quartet is more inclined to emulate Bad Religion’s anthems than Black Flag’s screeds.” I caught the band at the 9:30 Club this year, and I have to say, they were pretty fucking hammy for anarchists:

The band’s one attempt at inspiring political activism came when Dragge announced–not two songs before “Fuck Authority” from 2001’s Land of the Free?–”This song is for one of you fuckers, hopefully you’ll make it into the White House.” Isn’t saying “Fuck the government, unless we’re the government,” kind of like, I don’t know, Ronald Reagan famously arguing “Government is not the solution to our problem, government is the problem”?

Still, the dude is a big part of the group. I nominate Authority Zero‘sJason DeVore as Lindberg’s replacement.