We know D.C. Get our free newsletter to stay in the know.

Success! You're on the list.

They’re here. Today, the Kennedy Center announced the 2012 recipients of the 35th annual Kennedy Center Honors. Aaaand they are: Buddy Guy, Dustin Hoffman, David Letterman, Natalia Makarova, and Led Zeppelin. (A press release clarifies: “While Led Zeppelin is being honored as a band, keyboardist/bassist John Paul Jones, guitarist Jimmy Page, and singer Robert Plant will each receive the Kennedy Center Honors.”)

Here’s what the arts center has to say about the pool of winners this year:

With their extraordinary talent, creativity and tenacity, the seven 2012 Kennedy Center Honorees have contributed significantly to the cultural life of our nation and the world,” said Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein. “Buddy Guy is a titan of the blues and has been a tremendous influence on virtually everyone who has picked up an electric guitar in the last half century; Dustin Hoffman’s unyielding commitment to the wide variety of roles he plays has made him one of the most versatile and iconoclastic actors of this or any other generation; David Letterman is one of the most influential personalities in the history of television, entertaining an entire generation of late-night viewers with his unconventional wit and charm; Natalia Makarova’s profound artistry has ignited the stages of the world’s greatest ballet companies and continues to pass the torch to the next generation of dancers; and Led Zeppelin’s John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page and Robert Plant transformed the sound of rock and roll with their lyricism and innovative song structures, infusing blues into the sound of rock and roll and laying the foundation for countless rock bands.

As most are now aware, the gala itself, which is scheduled to take place on Dec. 2, is closed to the public. But it will be broadcast on CBS on Dec. 26 at 9 p.m.

The Kennedy Center originally said the live event is scheduled for Dec. 4. It’s actually on Dec. 2. This post has been updated.