We know D.C. Get our free newsletter to stay in the know.

Success! You're on the list.

It’s a good day for journalism in the movies: The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association has voted SpotlightTom McCarthy‘s exhilarating dramatization of the Boston Globe‘s “Spotlight” team investigation of the Catholic Church—as the best film of 2015. In addition to Best Film, Spotlight‘s actors—including Mark Ruffalo, Rachel McAdams, Michael Keaton, John Slattery, Brian d’Arcy James, and Liev Schreiber—won in the Best Acting Ensemble category.

Elsewhere, WAFCA (which, full disclosure, City Paper film critic Tricia Olszewski and I are both voting members of) really liked Mad Max: Fury Road which won Best Editing, Best Production Design, and Best Director for George Miller. Other winners included Leonardo DiCaprio in The Revenant for Best Actor, Saoirse Ronan in Brooklyn for Best Actress, Idris Elba in Beasts of No Nation for Best Supporting Actor, and Alicia Vikander in Ex Machina for Best Supporting Actress.

Worth noting: One of WAFCA’s usual categories—”Best Portrayal of Washington, D.C.” in the movies—was nixed this year, most likely because there weren’t a lot of 2015 movies set in D.C. Good for journalism, bad for D.C.

The full list of WAFCA winners is below:

Best Film:

Best Director:
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Actor:
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant)

Best Actress:
Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)

Best Supporting Actor:
Idris Elba (Beasts of No Nation)

Best Supporting Actress:
Alicia Vikander (Ex Machina)

Best Acting Ensemble:

Best Youth Performance:
Jacob Tremblay (Room)

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Emma Donoghue (Room)

Best Original Screenplay:
Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and Josh Cooley (Original Story by Pete Docter and Ronnie Del Carmen) (Inside Out)

Best Animated Feature:
Inside Out

Best Documentary:

Best Foreign Language Film:
Son of Saul

Best Production Design:
Production Designer: Colin Gibson, Set Decorator: Lisa Thompson (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Cinematography:
Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC (The Revenant)

Best Editing:
Margaret Sixel (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Best Original Score:
Jóhann Jóhannsson (Sicario)