The who’s who of the D.C. dining scene descended on the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel last night for the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington’s annual RAMMY Awards gala recognizing the area’s best chefs and restaurants. Here are the nominees and winners:

Chef of the Year

Anthony Chittum – Vermilion

Tony Conte – The Oval Room

Haidar Karoum – Proof

Kaz Okochi – Kaz Sushi Bistro

WINNER: Vikram Sunderam – Rasika

Rising Culinary Star of the Year

Justin Bittner – Bar Pilar

Logan Cox – Ripple

Claudio Pirollo – Et Voila!

Adam Sobel – Bourbon Steak

WINNER: Ed Witt – 701 Restaurant

Pastry Chef of the Year

Cicely Austin – The Oval Room

Peter Brett – Blue Duck Tavern

Alison Reed – Ripple

Susan Wallace – BlackSalt Fish Market & Restaurant

WINNER: Fabrice Bendano – Adour

Restaurateur of the Year

José Andrés & Rob Wilder – THINKFoodGROUP

Meshelle & Cathal Armstrong – EatGoodFood Group

Michael Babin – Neighborhood Restaurant Group

Ashok Bajaj – Knightsbridge Restaurant Group

WINNER: Jeff & Barbara Black – Black Restaurant Group

New Restaurant of the Year

Elisir Restaurant by Enzo Fargione


Hill Country Barbecue Market

Pearl Dive Oyster Palace


Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year

The Ashby Inn & Restaurant


The Oval Room


WINNER: Bourbon Steak

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year


Birch & Barley



WINNER: BlackSalt Fish Market & Restaurant

Casual Restaurant of the Year

Bar Pilar

C.F. Folks

Hank’s Oyster Bar and Lounge – DC

Room 11

WINNER: Mitsitam Native Foods Café (at the National Museum of the American Indian)

Wine Program of the Year





WINNER: Cork Wine Bar

Beverage/Mixology Program of the Year

Bourbon Steak

EatGoodFood Group

Birch & Barley

Room 11

WINNER: Estadio

Neighborhood Gathering Place of the Year (publicly voted)


Bistrot Du Coin

Et Voila!

The Majestic

WINNER: Café Saint-Ex

Power Spot of the Year (publicly voted)

701 Restaurant

The Oval Room

The Source by Wolfgang Puck

Tosca Ristorante

WINNER: Founding Farmers – DC

Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene of the Year (publicly voted)

The Hamilton

Hill Country Barbecue Market

Mad Fox Brewing Company


WINNER: Black Jack

Manager of the Year

Anna-Marie Ashe – Smith Commons

Daniel Bortnick – Firefly

Alex Munoz – Hill Country Barbecue Market

Javier Velazquez – Taberna del Alabardero

WINNER: Reagan Corbett – Jackson 20

Employee of the Year

Julie Albert – Brasserie Beck/Marcel’s

Ting Forester – District Commons

Teo Leiva – Fiola

Paris Twyman – Founding Farmers – DC

WINNER: José Alex Medrano – B. Smith’s

Associate Member of the Year



Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Sysco Food Services of Baltimore

WINNER: Adams-Burch, Inc.

Photo of Rasika chef Vikram Sunderam and RAMW president Lynne Breaux by Jessica Sidman