We know D.C. Get our free newsletter to stay in the know.

Last night at The Hamilton, the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington announced the nominees for its annual RAMMY Awards, the so-called Oscars of the local dining scene. Who are this year’s Daniel Day-Lewises and Jennifer Lawrences? Winners will be announced on June 23. In the meantime, check out the full list of honorees below.

Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year

The Ashby Inn & Restaurant

Blue Duck Tavern

The Bombay Club



Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year

Birch and Barley

Cork Wine Bar


Jaleo – Penn Quarter

KAZ Sushi Bistro

Casual Restaurant of the Year

Bar Pilar

Bayou Bakery

C. F. Folks

Nando’s Peri-Peri

Pete’s New Haven Style Apizza

Neighborhood Gathering Place of the Year

Ardeo + Bardeo


Evening Star Café

Nellie’s Sports Bar

Willow Restaurant

New Restaurant of the Year


DGS Delicatessen

Fuego Cocina y Tequileria

Mintwood Place

Rasika West End

Chef of the Year

Tony Conte – The Oval Room

Haidar Karoum – Estadio/Proof

Tarver King – The Ashby Inn and Restaurant

Cedric Maupillier – Mintwood Place

Fabio Trabocchi – Fiola

Rising Culinary Star of the Year

Scot Harlan – Green Pig Bistro

Tim Ma – Maple Avenue Restaurant

Marjorie Meek-Bradley – Ripple

John Melfi – Blue Duck Tavern

Nathan Shapiro – The Ashby Inn and Restaurant

Pastry Chef of the Year

Beverly Bates – Vidalia

Peter Brett – Blue Duck Tavern

Alison Reed – Ripple

Susan Wallace – BlackSalt Fish Market & Restaurant

Tom Wellings – Fiola

Wine Program of the Year


The Ashby Inn and Restaurant




Beverage/Mixology Program of the Year

Birch & Barley/Churchkey

Bourbon Steak

EatGoodFood Group


Room 11

Power Spot of the Year

The Bombay Club

Johnny’s Half Shell

P. J. Clarke’s


The Source by Wolfgang Puck

Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene of the Year

Bar Pilar


Fuego Cocina y Tequileria

Hank’s Oyster Bar – Capitol Hill

Jack Rose Dining Saloon

Manager of the Year

Joseph Cerione – Blue Duck Tavern

Justin Guthrie – Estadio

Alex Muñoz – Hill Country Barbecue Market

Michael Nevarez – Vidalia/Bistro Bis/Woodward Table

Tyes Zolman – Black Restaurant Group

Employee of the Year

Helene Jones – Poste Moderne Brasserie

Lauren Lowe – DC Coast

Luis Noriega – Zengo

Ali Schemeck – Chef Geoff’s, New Mexico Ave.

Elizabeth Zelaya – Fiola

Restaurateur of the Year

José Andrés & Rob Wilder – THINKFoodGROUP

Meshelle & Cathal Armstrong – EatGoodFood Group

Michael Babin – Neighborhood Restaurant Group

Ashok Bajaj – Knightsbridge Restaurant Group

Drew Kim, Mark Neal and Ty Neal – Matchbox Food Group

Associate Member of the Year

Acme Paper & Supply Co.



SYSCO Food Services of Baltimore

Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Photo of RAMW president Kathy Hollinger, The Ashby Inn’s Tarver King, Fiola’s Fabio Trabocchi, Mintwood Place’s Cedric Maupillier, and Proof/Estadio’s Haidar Karoum. Taken by Jessica Sidman.