We know D.C. Get our free newsletter to stay in the know.

Last night, a who’s who of the D.C.-area food scene gathered at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel for the Restaurant Association Metropolitan’s annual RAMMY awards. Who gets bragging rights for the next year? Check out the nominees and winners below.

Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year

WINNER: Blue Duck Tavern


The Ashby Inn & Restaurant

The Bombay Club


Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year

WINNER: Estadio

Birch and Barley

Cork Wine Bar

Jaleo – Penn Quarter

KAZ Sushi Bistro

Casual Restaurant of the Year

WINNER: C. F. Folks

Bar Pilar

Bayou Bakery

Nando’s Peri-Peri

Pete’s New Haven Style Apizza

Neighborhood Gathering Place of the Year

WINNER: Nellie’s Sports Bar

Ardeo + Bardeo


Evening Star Café

Willow Restaurant

New Restaurant of the Year

WINNER: Mintwood Place


DGS Delicatessen

Fuego Cocina y Tequileria

Rasika West End

Chef of the Year

WINNER: Fabio Trabocchi – Fiola

Tony Conte – The Oval Room

Haidar Karoum – Estadio/Proof

Tarver King – The Ashby Inn and Restaurant

Cedric Maupillier – Mintwood Place

Rising Culinary Star of the Year

WINNER: Scot Harlan – Green Pig Bistro

Tim Ma – Maple Avenue Restaurant

Marjorie Meek-Bradley – Ripple

John Melfi – Blue Duck Tavern

Nathan Shapiro – The Ashby Inn and Restaurant

Pastry Chef of the Year

WINNER: Beverly Bates – Vidalia

Peter Brett – Blue Duck Tavern

Alison Reed – Ripple

Susan Wallace – BlackSalt Fish Market & Restaurant

Tom Wellings – Fiola

Wine Program of the Year

WINNER: Marcel’s


The Ashby Inn and Restaurant



Beverage/Mixology Program of the Year

WINNER: Room 11

Birch & Barley/Churchkey

Bourbon Steak

EatGoodFood Group


Power Spot of the Year

WINNER: P. J. Clarke’s

The Bombay Club

Johnny’s Half Shell


The Source by Wolfgang Puck

Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene of the Year

WINNER: Bar Pilar


Fuego Cocina y Tequileria

Hank’s Oyster Bar – Capitol Hill

Jack Rose Dining Saloon

Manager of the Year

WINNER: Michael Nevarez – Vidalia/Bistro Bis/Woodward Table

Joseph Cerione – Blue Duck Tavern

Justin Guthrie – Estadio

Alex Muñoz – Hill Country Barbecue Market

Tyes Zolman – Black Restaurant Group

Employee of the Year

WINNER: Luis Noriega – Zengo

Helene Jones – Poste Moderne Brasserie

Lauren Lowe – DC Coast

Ali Schemeck – Chef Geoff’s, New Mexico Ave.

Elizabeth Zelaya – Fiola

Restaurateur of the Year

WINNER: Ashok Bajaj – Knightsbridge Restaurant Group

José Andrés & Rob Wilder – THINKFoodGROUP

Meshelle & Cathal Armstrong – EatGoodFood Group

Michael Babin – Neighborhood Restaurant Group

Drew Kim, Mark Neal and Ty Neal – Matchbox Food Group

Associate Member of the Year

WINNER: Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Acme Paper & Supply Co.



SYSCO Food Services of Baltimore

Photo by Jessica Sidman