NOV. 15-DEC. 28

Organized to complement a Library of Congress exhibition, this survey can’t cover the entire Anglo-American cinematic relationship, but it does offer the occasion for screening a whole bunch of fascinating stuff from Britain’s film and television archives. It’s really a collection of mini-retrospectives of such diverse but eminently British material as Ealing Studio comedies, adaptations of the work of P.G. Wodehouse, Ken Loach films, and ’60s British spy series. The last include episodes of The Avengers, both with Diana Rigg (Thursday, Nov. 18) and her little-seen-in-America predecessor, Honor Blackman (Monday, Dec. 6); a double-bill of Secret Agent and its surrealistic successor, The Prisoner (Wednesday, Dec. 15); and examples of The Saint from 1968 and 1978 (Tuesday, Dec. 28). The Ealing comedies include such postwar classics as Kind Hearts and Coronets (at 7 p.m. Monday, Nov. 15), Passport to Pimlico (Wednesday, Dec. 1), and The Lavender Hill Mob (at 6:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 10). The Loach retrospective features Riff-Raff (Friday, Nov. 19); Hidden Agenda (Wednesday, Dec. 8); and the Washington debut of Ladybird Ladybird (Tuesday, Dec. 21), a frank, disturbing portrait of a sometimes neglectful working-class mother. Swinging London and its discontents are recalled by Catch Us If You Can (Thursday, Dec. 2), John Boorman and the Dave Clark Five’s answer to A Hard Day’s Night; and Performance (Friday, Dec. 3), Nicolas Roeg, Donald Cammell, and Mick Jagger’s trip through the Notting Hill looking glass. And if you’re wondering where Uncle Sam comes in, there’s also The Beverly Hillbillies: “The Clampetts in London” (at 6:30 p.m. Monday, Nov. 22). All screenings at 7 p.m., unless otherwise indicated, at the Library of Congress’ Mary Pickford Theater, 1st St. and Independence Avenue SE. Free. For reservations call (202) 707-5677. (Mark Jenkins)