TO AUG. 25

The Freer’s seventh annual survey of new Hong Kong cinema features three great films, none of which are actually new to Washington. In the Mood for Love (pictured, at 2 p.m. Sunday, July 21, and at 7 p.m. Friday, July 26) is Wong Kar-Wai’s gorgeous, almost ritualistic evocation of lost love and the city of his youth. Shu Kei’s Hu Du Men (“Stage Door”) (at 3 p.m. Friday, Aug. 2, and at 7 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 8) is a complex, compassionate dramedy about family, sexual identity, and theater. And Tsui Hark’s soulless but dazzling Time and Tide (at 7 p.m. Friday, Aug. 23, and at 2 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 25) is the absolute apotheosis [CK W/MARK] of the hyperstylized HK action flick. None of the D.C. premieres can rival these reprises, but some are diverting. HK’s biggest hit of 1998, The Stormriders (at 2 p.m. Sunday, July 14, and at 3 p.m. Friday, July 19) is an overpopulated martial-arts epic with fine special effects but more story than it knows what to do with. Twelve Nights (at 7 p.m. Friday, Aug. 9, and at 3 p.m. Friday, Aug. 23) is a fairly conventional yuppie romance distinguished by its structure and its ironic kicker. La Brassiere (at 2 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 4) is a mildly sexy but mostly silly romantic comedy about an all-female lingerie company that hires two men to design the “ultimate bra.” And City of Glass (at 3 p.m. Friday, July 26, and at 7 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 1) is an overly glossy tale of two young lovers who rediscover each other 25 years after being separated. The festival runs to Sunday, Aug. 25, at the Freer Gallery of Art’s Meyer Auditorium, 12th and Jefferson Drive SW. Free. (202) 357-4880. (Mark Jenkins)