MARCH 10 – APRIL 27

Saluting the 100th anniversary of filmmaker Billy Wilder’s birth, this series recalls the golden age of American cinema—when it wasn’t very American at all. After spending his childhoo in Vienna, Wilder found his first movie work in Berlin; only after the Nazis took power did he head to Hollywood, joining such fellow Austrian expats as Fritz Lang and Josef von Sternberg. The writer-director is probably best-known for his comedies of the 1950s and ’60s: In Some Like It Hot (at 8:40 p.m. Friday, March 10; at 9:20 p.m. Saturday, March 11; at 3:10 p.m. Sunday, March 12 with an appearance by producer George Stevens Jr.; and at 8:45 p.m. Thursday, March 16), Jack Lemmon, Tony Curtis, and Marilyn Monroe all wear dresses; The Seven Year Itch (at 1 p.m. Saturday, March 11; at 8:50 p.m. Monday, March 13; and at 6:40 p.m. Wednesday, March 15), also stars Monroe, this time as a less-than-fatal attraction; and in The Apartment (at 6:30 p.m. Friday, April 21; at 12:30 p.m. & 9:35 p.m. Saturday, April 22; at 5:30 p.m. Sunday, April 23; and at 8:45 p.m. Monday, April 24 & Wednesday, April 26), Lemmon plays a clerk whose home sees lots of action, even if he doesn’t. Yet Wilder’s work could be much darker, as in Sunset Boulevard (pictured) and especially in the insurance-scamming, murder-planning Double Indemnity (at 6:30 p.m. & 8:45 p.m. Friday, March 17; at 9:25 p.m. Saturday, March 19; at 9:25 p.m. Sunday, March 19; at 8:55 p.m. Monday, March 20; and at 6:40 p.m. Wednesday, March 22). The series opens Friday, March 10, and runs through Thursday, April 27 (see Showtimes for weekly schedule), at the American Film Institute’s Silver Theatre and Cultural Center, 8633 Colesville Road, Silver Spring. $9.25. (301) 495-6720. (Mark Jenkins)