to sept. 4

The Leopard (pictured) has long been a local rep-cinema favorite, and not just because it was unavailable on video for years. Adapted from a complex historical novel, the three-hour 1963 film demonstrates director Luchino Visconti’s skills, including his exquisite balance of sweep and detail. Some of the credit for that must go to Suso Cecchi d’Amico, who scripted most of Visconti’s features. This series begins with Luchino Visconti (at 2:30 p.m. Friday, July 21, and noon Saturday, July 22), a 1983 documentary that covers the filmmaker’s many contradictions—born a count, he became a Marxist—and includes footage of the filmmaker with d’Amico. Then it’s on to The Leopard (at 4 p.m. Saturday, July 29, and 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 2), which tracks the declining influence of the Sicilian aristocracy, and five others: The Innocent (at 4:30 p.m. Sunday, July 23), an account of a libertine’s hypocrisy; Senso (at 2:30 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 3, and 4 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 5), in which a Venetian countess falls for an officer with the Austrian troops occupying her city; Rocco and His Brothers (at 4:30 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 13), the saga of a rural family that relocates to the city; Ludwig (at 2 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 19), an opulent account of Bavaria’s mad king; and Death in Venice (at 2 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 2, and 2 p.m. Monday, Sept. 4), a florid adaptation of Thomas Mann’s novel about a composer’s erotic obsession. “Luchino Visconti and Suso Cecchi d’Amico” runs through Monday, Sept. 4, at the National Gallery of Art, East Building Auditorium, 4th St. & Constitution Ave. NW. Free. (202) 737-4215. (Mark Jenkins)