Expect a cold but sunny weekend, D.C.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

  • Councilmember Kenyan McDuffie sent a letter to D.C. fire Chief Gregory Dean asking about the supply and availability of the department’s ladder trucks after a report that an elderly woman died during a fire in her home.

  • The Metropolitan Police Department settled a lawsuit brought by the ACLU after one of its officers performed an invasive search of a Southeast D.C. man. The department agreed to a settlement rather than release documents related to 20 internal investigations into Officer Sean Lojacano. MDP fired Lojacano, who has appealed the termination. The Sept., 2017 incident was caught on video.

  • Quarterback Alex Smith is battling an infection following the surgery on his broken leg. The Washington football team released a statement on behalf of Smith and his family requesting “privacy at this time.”

  • The Smithsonian’s first gallery on the U.S. Latinx experience will open in the National Museum of American History in 2021.

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • H Street NE is getting a hot pot pop-up from Erik Bruner-Yang that could become permanent. [WCP]

  • Several restaurants have closed on Upshur Street. Is everything okay? [DCist]

  • This Hyattsville brewery wants to welcome the D.C.-area’s deaf community. [Post]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • THE SLEIGHER (i.e. daily reviews of the new holiday music in 2018): John Legend lends his buttery voice to a Christmas classic. [WCP]

  • The D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities has created a D.C. music walk of fame outside the Howard Theatre. [DCist]

  • Rodarte graces the National Museum of Women in the Arts’ runway. [WCP]

  • How a Northern Virginia vinyl pressing plant is thriving in the digital age. [WAMU]

  • The Scene Report: new tunes from Chelly the MC, Killa Cal, D’Jon, and other D.C. hip-hop luminaries. [WCP]

  • Film review: Roma is a masterpiece. [WCP]

  • Another film review: Vox Lux is a sobering look at pop stardom and gun violence. [WCP]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • ICYMI: Some Brookland Manor residents continue to resist proposed development along Rhode Island Ave. NE. [WCP]

  • Development options for 2 Patterson Street NE. [Urban Turf]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The Post announced that Chelsea Janes is leaving the Nationals beat to cover the 2020 presidential race.

  • Elissa Ennis, Reuben Foster’s ex-girlfriend, told Good Morning America that the local NFL team signing Foster after abuse charges felt like a “slap in the face.” [NBC Washington]

  • Tom Wilson did not play Thursday night after suffering a concussion from a hit by Ryan Reaves on Tuesday. [NBC Sports]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

OFFICE OF FUTURE PLANNING

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.