Get local news delivered straight to your phone

Expect a cloudy Thursday with a high chance of political gridlock.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

We can't make City Paper without you

$
$
$

Your contribution is appreciated.

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Local elected officials took their oaths of office at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center yesterday. Mayor Muriel Bowser, Attorney General Karl Racine, Council Chairman Phil Mendelson, and councilmembers Elissa Silverman, Brianne Nadeau, Charles Allen, Kenyan McDuffie, Anita Bonds, and Mary Cheh were sworn into office. [Post]

  • Ten years of working as a cable tech in the D.C. suburbs is full of cat piss, the Fox News rage cult, and a man in a basement cage. “The American id in its underpants, wondering if it remembered to delete the browsing history.” [Huffington Post]

  • Three days into 2019 and the gun-related deaths are piling up, including that of 20-year-old Marine, Lance Cpl. Riley Kuzina, who was fatally shot by a fellow marine’s accidental discharge of a firearm. [Post, WAMU]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Ten thrilling restaurant openings we’re looking forward to in 2019. [WCP]

  • Why The Post’s “$20 Diner” column is droppings its name. [Post]

  • Arlington to gain a beer hall and German restaurant called Bronson. [WBJ]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • After 25 years, Howard University’s marching band director, John Newson, is hanging up his hat. [Post]

  • Thousands of dollars of equipment stolen in Anacostia Playhouse robbery. [Fox5]

  • Here are the museums and attractions that are closed for the shutdown. [Post]

  • How Atlas Brew Works became D.C.’s epicenter for its metal scene. [Post]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Does Bowser want to upzone? [Twitter]

  • The DMV: Not such a great place to launch a startup, apparently. [WBJ]

  • Rejoice in the repaving of Columbia Road. [PoPville]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The Wizards are slowly embracing the NBA’s advanced analytics movement. [WCP]

  • Alex Ovechkin is skipping the NHL All-Star Weekend for some understandable extra rest. [AP]

  • Kristi Toliver only makes $10,000 as a Wizards assistant coach, according to an eye-opening piece by Howard Megdal of The New York Times.

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.