Sign up for our free newsletter

Free D.C. news, delivered to your inbox daily.

It’s day 33, and 800,000 federal employees are expecting to miss another paycheck Friday. Hundreds of IRS workers can’t even afford their commutes anymore, which means they can’t process your tax returns. The Senate is floundering.

Workers are protesting at the Hart Senate Office Building today at noon.

D.C.-area institutions continue to offer help. City Paper’s ever-growing shutdown guide now has separate food assistance sections for D.C., Maryland, and Virginia. World Central Kitchen’s resource center at 701 Pennsylvania Ave. NW is offering diapers, pads, tampons, incontinence products, baby formula, and pet food. Virginia Hospital Center opened a new payment program so that furloughed and struggling workers don’t delay medical care. American University is offering classes and networking opportunities to furloughed federal workers and contractors.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • D.C. Council overrides Mayor Muriel Bowser’s veto of Metro fare evasion decriminalization. [WCP]

  • Bowser has tapped $2 million in emergency funds for SNAP in D.C. [Twitter]

  • The Council also quickly passed legislation to protect federal workers from eviction. [DCist]

  • Councilmember David Grosso is worried about a nuclear war. [Twitter]

  • The case for establishing the sports betting program in D.C., pronto. [WBJ]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Young & Hungry is away from her desk this week.

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Upcoming Smithsonian exhibitions, including the National Gallery of Art’s major Tintoretto show, is in jeopardy, thanks to the shutdown. [Post]

  • How some furloughed workers are channeling their frustration … into improv comedy. [WAMU]

  • Check out the new GoldLink track. [Highsnobiety]

  • CBS discovers the Glenstone. [CBS News ]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Which came first––the food desert or the dollar store? [Urban Turf]

  • D.C. gets a dedicated Vision Zero office. [Curbed]

  • The Virginia state Senate voted to pass an Amazon HQ2 incentives package. [WBJ]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Washington football team president Bruce Allen finally spoke with reporters and he cited his “passion” as a reason why he’s the right guy for the job. That did not exactly go over well with fans. [Richmond Times-Dispatch]

  • The struggling Caps lost their sixth straight game after giving up an empty net goal to the San Jose Sharks with seconds remaining in regulation. [Deadspin]

  • Frances Tiafoe’s magic run at the Australian Open came to an end with a straight sets loss to world No. 2 Rafael Nadal. [AP]

  • In a thrilling game befitting two of the best girls’ high school basketball teams in the country, St. John’s beat Bishop McNamara, 67-65, in overtime. [Twitter]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.