Get local news delivered straight to your phone

It’s day 34 of the shutdown and 12 people were arrested outside Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell’s office yesterday. Hundreds of federal workers also gathered in the atrium of the Hart Senate Building to protest the government shutdown. They reportedly held styrofoam plates that read: “Feed our feds,” and “Federal workers are hungry.”

The D.C. government will offer zero-interest mortgage loans up to $5,000 per month to furloughed federal workers. And George Mason University is offering a free LSAT prep course to furloughed workers. Get the details here.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

We can't make City Paper without you

$
$
$

Your contribution is appreciated.

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Mayor Muriel Bowser will attend a ribbon cutting for the first medical marijuana dispensary to open east of the Anacostia River. The owner, Linda Greene, is a longtime, politically connected Ward 8 figure. [WCP]

  • Attorney General Karl Racine introduced legislation to make clergy mandatory reporters of child abuse. The bill includes an exception for information provided during confession. [DCist]

  • The joint oversight of D.C.’s public education system begins. [Twitter]

  • Prison to paralegal: A new D.C. program helps formerly incarcerated people get legal training and find jobs in law offices. [DC Line]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Young & Hungry is away from her desk this week.

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Go see Chic and Nile Rodgers for free if you’re furloughed. [DCist]

  • Maryland’s poet laureate Grace Cavalieri discusses her work in the state with Kojo Nnamdi. [Kojo Nnamdi Show]

  • At the Arlington Arts Center, a strong showing of fiber. [WCP]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Bowser and human services officials launch D.C.’s 2019 “point in time” count of unsheltered homeless people. [Twitter]

  • The most expensive homes sold in greater D.C. [WBJ]

  • There are still hundreds of apartment units in the pipeline for H Street NE. [UrbanTurf]

  • The best (inexpensive) interior designers around town. [PoPville]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Howard University has grand visions for their athletic department just years after an NCAA recruiting scandal. [WCP]

  • D.C. United welcomes Clarksville, Maryland native and Terps men’s soccer defender Donovan Pines to the team. [mlssoccer.com]

  • The Wizards are looking for their third straight win tonight. And it’ll have to be against the Warriors. [Bullets Forever]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.