Get to know D.C. with our daily newsletter

We dive deep on the day’s biggest story and share links to everything you need to know.

Morning, D.C. Couple things: Expect highs in the 60s, and President Trump will give his State of the Union address. Street closures around the U.S. Capitol Building will began at 7 p.m.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals(tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Not everyone was impressed with the Washington Post’s $10 million Super Bowl commercial [PoliticoUSA Today]

  • Mayor Muriel Bowser’s office is set to announce $100,000 in grant funds for immigrants applying for U.S. citizenship. [DCist]

  • More firearm background checks in 2018 doesn’t necessarily mean more gun purchases. [WAMU]

  • Throw crumbs on the ground and watch a (fake) Ivanka Trump vacuum them up. [DCist]

  • Council Chairman Phil Mendelson(who took some control of D.C.’s education system) seems to think Bowser’s pick for school chancellor will be confirmed. [Twitter]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Where to feast on barley tea ice cream, whole roast pig, and duck pizza for the Lunar New Year. [WCP]

  • The sports bar replacing Ventnors now has a name. [Washingtonian]

  • Ivy City will get another cocktail bar inside a distillery this year. [Eater]

  • Maybe you’ve seen oat milk as a dairy alternative around town? [Post]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Not even nuclear war can stop Ex Hex in their latest music video. [Rolling Stone]

  • Sneaks, by this account, slayed at her record release show. [Post]

  • Here are the 2019 Helen Hayes Awards nominations. [Post]

  • Probably the most adorable singing Valentine chorus you’ll see today. Maybe. [DCist]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Nearly one in four D.C.-area homes sold above their asking prices last year. [Urban Turf]

  • A bill in the Virginia Senate would raise Airbnb rental caps to 180 days. [Twitter]

  • Long & Foster goes all in on Amazon’s HQ2. [WTOP]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Attention bobblehead collectors: The Nats’ 2019 promotional schedule will include Juan Soto, Trea Turner, Max Scherzer, and Patrick Corbin bobblehead giveaways. [WTOP]

  • The Mystics have re-signed center LaToya Sanders. [Bullets Forever]

  • Capitals owner Ted Leonsis, the Monumental Sports and Entertainment Foundation, and the NHL have launched a fundraising page to help raise money to renovate Fort Dupont Ice Arena in Southeast. [NBC Sports Washington]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.