Get local news delivered straight to your phone

It’s Tuesday. More ice (maybe). More rain (almost definitely). Check here for school closings and delayed starts.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

  • There’s a push to change the name of Woodrow Wilson High School, named after the 28th president who favored segregation in D.C. Those with strong roots in the city still remember the history of discrimination. The school will host a forum to discuss the change tonight at 7 p.m.

  • A new early childhood development center at Ketchum Elementary School will give kids in Anacostia ages 6 weeks to 3 years access to programs.

  • With the next deadline to fund the federal government looming, a top Republican senator says congressional negotiators have reached an “agreement in principle.” Specific details have not been released, but sources tell ABC that the deal includes $1.375 billion for some kind of physical barriers on the southern border.

  • Late-night sushi and karaoke. What could go wrong?

  • PoPville will help you find a Valentines Day card.

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

We can't make City Paper without you

$
$
$

Your contribution is appreciated.

  • In D.C. even the mayor’s pizza preferences are political. Here’s a deep dive into Mayor Muriel Bowser’s favorite pies and the donations from their creators. [DCist]

  • The new Institute of Politics, Policy, and History at the University of the District of Columbia will explore D.C. history and its role in shaping contemporary policy. [DC Line]

  • April Goggans, a Black Lives Matter organizer, is suing the District. She says MPD officers have been surveilling her. [DCist]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Zeppelin to bring sushi, yakitori, and karaoke to Shaw later this month. [WCP]

  • In case you need more fondue in your life. [Washingtonian]

  • How food trucks are adapting to a changing market, including some in D.C. [NYT]

  • Is meat-free gelatin on the horizon? [Eater]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The business of obituary writing isn’t dying… it’s thriving. [DCist]

  • CulturalDC’s mobile art gallery wants you to “Stay Fly.” [AFRO]

  • The story of the long-forgotten Langley High School band Incredible Fog. [Post]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • More than ever, married D.C. couples are taking on roommates. [Urban Turf]

  • “I’m plagued with recurring leaks. Help!” [PoPville]

  • Thirty-four D.C.-area buildings sell for $198.5 million. [WBJ]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Jack Gruden, the 22-year-old son of Jay Gruden and a video assistant for the Washington football team, was arrested early Sunday morning in Ashburn and charged with being drunk in public. [ESPN]

  • It will be up to the Wizards to either take advantage of their newfound financial flexibility or potentially find themselves right back where they started. [WCP]

  • The Nats are looking for a bullpen cart driver for all of their home games. [WTOP]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.