Happy Friday, D.C. There’s a bald eagle love triangle playing out in a nest above D.C.’s police academy.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Locking Up Our Own: Crime and Punishment in Black America does not approve of Mayor Muriel Bowser’s alliance with the U.S. Attorney to prosecute some gun crimes in federal court. [Post]

  • The Metro board’s safety committee voted against reinstating late night hours, restricting maintenance work. The full board will vote again later this month. The Federal Transit Authority is threatening to withhold $1.6 billion if D.C. brings back late night hours. [WAMU/Post]

  • D.C. might get more oversight of federal park land within the city. [Curbed]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • ICYMI: Union Kitchen’s accelerator has launched a few big brands, but some entrepreneurs report troubling practices. [WCP]

  • Hidden gem coffee shop Lapop will soon serve cocktails in a cultural salon setting. [WCP]

  • For when you’re too sick and tired to make your own soup. [Washingtonian]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • ICYMI: Read our Spring Arts Guide! [WCP]

  • At GWU, Robin Bell‘s projections send a strong message. [WCP]

  • Westminster Presbyterian Church celebrates 20 years of its Jazz Night in D.C. series. [Post]

  • Political and cultural tensions arise in Mosaic Theater Company’s Shame 2.0 with Comments from the Populace. [WCP]

  • Protesters demand more diverse art at the National Gallery. [DCist]

  • The bodies pile up in Shakespeare Theatre Company’s Richard the Third. [WCP]

  • Film review: You’ll want to look away from Never Look Away. [WCP]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The D.C. Housing Authority says thousands of units are nearly uninhabitable. Tenants want to know: What’s next? [WCP]

  • Amazon will proceed “as planned” in Crystal City, despite pulling out of its New York location. [Curbed]

  • WeWork snatches up an eight-floor Rhode Island Ave. NW building. [WBJ]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Former Wizards star Gilbert Arenas is making a return to the court—for three-on-three basketball. [Bullets Forever]

  • Howard University men’s basketball coach Kevin Nickelberry will be back on the sidelines on Saturday after being placed briefly on administrative leave for his conduct during the altercation between the Bison and Norfolk State on Feb. 2. [Post]

  • Australian midfielders Chloe Logarzo and Amy Harrisonare reportedly joining the Washington Spirit. [Black & Red United]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

OFFICE OF FUTURE PLANNING

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.