Get local news delivered straight to your phone

Talk with D.C. natives on Sunday evening, March 3 at Solid State Books. Winners of our D.C. natives essay contest will tell their stories of growing up in D.C. and offer their advice on how to live in the District.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

We can't make City Paper without you

$
$
$

Your contribution is appreciated.

  • D.C. took a $47.4 million revenue hit because of the federal government shutdown, according to a new report from the District’s CFO. [CFO, Post]

  • Ward 1 Councilmember Brianne Nadeauis the patron saint of public restrooms. [Twitter]

  • Former D.C. Mayor Sharon Pratt launches discussion series to talk about blackface. [WCP]

  • At-Large Councilmember Robert White has some requests for Mayor Muriel Bowser as she thinks about her budget proposals, including $30 million for early childhood educators and $25 million for the Housing Production Trust Fund. [Twitter]

  • And, in a separate issue, he’s sticking with the hat. [Twitter, WCP]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The first bar to be revealed at The Roost on Capitol Hill is Show of Hands, featuring low-alcohol cocktails. [WCP]

  • You can try a CBD doughnut at Astro Doughnuts. [DCist]

  • We’ll remember the &pizza-loving intern forever. [Post]

  • A guide to which food trucks show up at area breweries. [DCRefined]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The annual Capital Irish Film Festival is back! Read our reviews. [WCP]

  • Could PG County nativeKassim be the region’s next big rap star? [Post]

  • Arena Stage’s The Heiress explores the intersection of love and wealth. [WCP]

  • The Devil infiltrates everything in Constellation’sThe Master and Margarita. [WCP]

  • Ford’s Theatre announces its 2019/2020 season. [DC Theatre Scene]

  • The National Cathedral, but make it out of Legos. [DCist]

  • Film review: Art is everywhere in the charming Ruben Brandt, Collector. [WCP]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Hoffman-Madison Waterfront selects a general contractor for the second phase of The Wharf. [WBJ]

  • The Office of Planning wants to host an open forum to give (and get) feedback on the Comprehensive Plan. [Curbed]

  • A meeting of business leaders got disrupted by anti-Amazon protestors. [WAMU]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Twenty memorablemoments—the good (MVP award), the bad (“Where’s my ring?”) and the ugly (that time his teammate choked him)—from Bryce Harper’s seven-year career with the Nats. [Post]

  • Can Colt McCoy lead the local NFL team to the playoffs? Former NFL quarterback and NBC Sports analyst Chris Simms thinks so. [NBC Sports Washington]

  • If you’re looking to add another bobblehead to your collection, 500 Maryland women’s basketball fans will get a bobblehead of Brianna Fraser, the only senior on the team, this Saturday at 2 p.m. in College Park. [umterps.com]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

OFFICE OF FUTURE PLANNING

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.