Sign up for our free newsletter

Free D.C. news, delivered to your inbox daily.

Good morning, D.C. Here’s something: Sending strangers unwanted pictures of genitals while riding Metro and using AirDrop—or by any other method—is not OK. Also, today will be a bit more brisk than yesterday with temperatures approaching 50 degrees.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • How activists got leaf blowers banned in D.C. [Atlantic]

  • Metro ridership is nearing a 20-year low. [WAMU]

  • Mayor Muriel Bowser declines to say whether she’ll support Ward 2 Councilmember Jack Evans’ bid for re-election next. [Twitter]

  • The Council will hold an administrative meeting tomorrow during which they will likely go into executive session to talk about Evans. [Twitter]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • You can order teppanyaki food from Benihana for delivery. Should you? [WCP]

  • New H Street NE Japanese restaurant has “fudo” and “dorinku” menus. [Washingtonian]

  • Here are the finalists for the 2019 RAMMY Awards. [Eater]

  • A Yelp app for the MAGA set. [Daily Beast]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • I want to believe. [Post]

  • One nation under hoops: The National Building Museum’s new exhibition showcases basketball courts across America. [WAMU]

  • U Street’s famous Duke Ellington mural on the True Reformer Building will be restored this spring. [AFRO]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • DC Fiscal Policy Institute urges the mayor to double investments in affordable housing, citing the rising cost of construction. [WCP]

  • An update (maybe) on the 11th Street Bridge Park. [Urban Turf]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Seven-time Grand Slam winner Venus Williams will be back in D.C. this summer to play for the Kastles. [Twitter]

  • The Caps are on a seven-game win streak and much of that can be credited to new additions Carl Hagelin and Nick Jensen. [Washington Times]

  • After outrage from Wizards fans, NBC Sports Washington general manager Damon Phillips explains why popular broadcaster Steve Buckhantz’s third-year option has not yet been picked up. [Post]

  • Landon Collins, an All-Pro safety who played with the New York Giants, is set to sign a six-year, $84 million deal with the local NFL team. [nfl.com]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.