Get local news delivered straight to your phone

Happy Hump Day, D.C. Expect some sun and temperatures in the 50s today, and even warmer weather to end the week.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Support City Paper!

$
$
$

Your contribution is appreciated.

  • Letters to the Editor in the Postshow frustration over the controversy surrounding Councilmember Jack Evans. [Post]

  • D.C. drops its lawsuit against Providence Health System over the hospital’s plans to close. [WBJ, DCist]

  • D.C. statehood push has reached Onion status. [Onion]

  • Councilmember Kenyan McDuffie supports changing the name of Woodrow Wilson High School, named after the 28th U.S. president and segregationist. [Twitter, WCP]

  • Councilmember Charles Allen plans to introduce a bill that will apply the open meetings and open records law to public charter schools. [DC Line]

  • Budget geeks rejoice: the D.C.’s budget director office launched its own website. [DC Council Budget]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Where to celebrate Pi day in D.C. [DCist]

  • A map to all the matcha in the District. [Eater]

  • Can certain foods help with depression? [Post]

  • Three different restaurants will replace La Tasca in Arlington. [WBJ]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • How women shaped D.C. punk’s past—and still shaping its present and future. [Kojo Nnamdi Show]

  • Hey Dupont Circle, you just got a new bookstore. You sure have a lot of those now, huh? [PoPville]

  • At the Maryland Institute for Art, a student’s new exhibit reveals the school’s racist past. [Washington Informer]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The GSA will emphasize new DHS construction, not historic reuse, at St. E’s. [WBJ]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Azzi Fudd made history as the first sophomore to be named the Gatorade National Girls’ Basketball Player of the Year. [WCP]

  • Hyattsville native Frances Tiafoeand Nick Kyrgios will be headliners for the Kastles this season. [World Team Tennis]

  • According to the Post, FloSports will offer full refunds to D.C. United fans who want to move on from the service after its shaky debut.

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.