Get local news delivered straight to your phone

We’ll see another warm day, with a high in the 70s, and possibly a thunderstorm. Dare we say it’s looking like the beginning of spring?  

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

  • Mayor Muriel Bowserstops by the White House, briefly pressing Donald Trump to fill vacant judge seats in the D.C. Superior Court, which she said “has become a key public safety matter for the District of Columbia.” She also reportedly urged him to replace the Veterans Affairs Medical Center with a new facility.

  • A D.C. employee pleads guilty to taking bribes and sex in exchange for $1.4 million in food stamps and other benefits.

  • Despite a promising season, the Georgetown men’s basketball team will likely miss the NCAA tournament for the fifth straight season after losing in the quarterfinals of the Big East tournament.

  • Ian MacKaye and Dischord records gets a shoutout from Democratic presidential nominee Beto O’Rourke. That may be the least punk statement we’ve ever typed. Anyway, listen to Fugazi.

  • The Maryland Senate advances a bill to mandate a $15-per-hour minimum wage.

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals(tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

We can't make City Paper without you

$
$
$

Your contribution is appreciated.

  • Councilmember Jack Evans is facing a recall effort started by a guy who once gave him a doobie. [Post]

  • The support rally for Evans fizzled out. [DCist]

  • Meet Yesim Taylor, the former D.C. budget analyst who now runs her own think tank. [DC Line]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The Inn at Little Washington earns major James Beard Foundation Award. [Eater]

  • Where to sip Irish whiskey in D.C. [DCRefined]

  • A Stoney’s server is part of the cast for the May season of The Bachelorette? [Washingtonian]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The opening of the National Gallery of Art’s The Life of Animals in Japanese Artexhibition has been delayed a month thanks to the government shutdown. [Post]

  • “[Fifty] percent jokes, 50 percent queer rage” make up the D.C. DIY band Born Dad. [DCist]

  • Bummer: The Smithsonian Folklife Festival will be two days this year instead of 10, thanks to—you guessed it—the government shutdown. [Post]

  • How the Hirshhorn is making museums more kid-friendly. [WAMU]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • ICYMI: DC Central Kitchen lost out on nearly half of the value of its contract, throwing the organization into financial turbulence. [WCP]

  • Legal Aid sues the DC Housing Authority for allegedly violating the Violence Against Women Act. [Post]

  • Kandida Development Group is proposing to turn the site of a former church in Bloomingdale into a residential complex. [Urban Turf]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Caps forward Brett Connolly has a shot like few others, and he got to show it off last night with a two-goal performance during the team’s 5-2 win over the Flyers. [WCP]

  • Meet the Wizards fan that told Ted Leonsis to fire Ernie Grunfeld to his face. [Post]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

OFFICE OF FUTURE PLANNING

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.