Get local news delivered straight to your phone

Mornin’ D.C. It’s Tuesday, and UVA fans should look for special team-colored doughnuts at Sugar Shack today.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Ward 2 Councilmember Jack Evans’ former campaign chairman is challenging the embattled lawmaker. Patrick Kennedy is basically running as the anti-Jack. [WAMU, Post]

  • Almost the entire Baltimore city council is calling for Mayor Catherine Pugh to resign amid in the wake of a children’s book scandal. Pugh is currently on a leave of absence and, according to a spokesperson, does not intend to step down. [CNN]

  • There is a shortage of foster parents in D.C. [WAMU]

  • Gentrification doesn’t have to equal displacement. [Post]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Support City Paper!

$
$
$

Your contribution is appreciated.

  • Check out the menu for Nicoletta Italian Kitchen opening April 19. [WCP]

  • Lulabelle’s Sweet Shop was broken into again. [DCist]

  • How did the pay-what-you-want tasting menu experiment go at Reverie? [Washingtonian]

  • The Front Pagestatus is in limbo. [WBJ]

  • Young Asian American farmers are reclaiming Asian vegetables. [Eater]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • While the Smithsonian’s Anacostia Community Museum closes for renovations, DC Public Libraries will host its Right to the City exhibition. [WAMU]

  • D.C. readies for annual Emancipation Day celebration. [AFRO]

  • Local author Cheryl Head‘s Catch Me When I’m Falling is a modern take on the classic detective novel. [WCP]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Public housing residents are told they’ll be able to return to their newly redeveloped complexes. Some have been waiting more than a decade. [WAMU]

  • On Karl Racine’s many lawsuits against bad landlords. [WAMU]

  • The convention center is poised for more changes. [WBJ]

  • Does DC’s zoning code lack protections for solar panels? [Urban Turf]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The Wizards play their final game of the season tonight at Capital One Arena against the Celtics. Since TNT has the broadcast, play-by-play announcer Steve Buckhantzmay have worked his last Wizards game on Sunday. Fans have already made a T-shirt in his support. [Bullets Forever]

  • In a nail-biting, overtime championship game, the U-Va. Cavaliers beat Texas Tech, 85-77, to win the NCAA men’s basketball title for the first time in school history. [NCAA.com]

  • Good news for Terps fans: Forward Jalen Smith is returning to College Park for his sophomore season. [Washington Times]

  • The Stanley Cup went on a promotional tour yesterday, including a stop at the Washington Post newsroom, and journalists predictably lost their cool. [Twitter]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.