Happy Friday, D.C. Grab your umbrellas, as we could see some thunderstorms this afternoon.

Also, D.C.’s Emancipation Day parade is tomorrow with a concert after featuring Faith Evans, Doug E Fresh, MYA, and more.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com

  • Councilmember Jack Evans says he will no longer seek outside employment, but he renewed the business registration for his private consulting firm. He did so on the “advice of counsel,” he says.  [Post]

  • Evans’ first 2020 challenger is having trouble with D.C.’s new public elections program. [Twitter]

  • The effort to recall (probably) Evans lives on. [Twitter]

  • Mark Lee comes to Evans’ defense.  [Blade]

  • Former Virginia Gov. Terry McAuliffe is cashing in, again, on his brief tenure as an alligator wrestler. [DCist]

  • More libraries, please. Newly renovated Ward 7 library strengthens the community. [DC Line]

  • Bowser and Booker do lunch. [Twitter]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Peruse the innovative, artsy menu for Latin American restaurant Seven Reasons opening April 16. [WCP]

  • D.C.’s mini bagel boom marches on with Pearl’s Bagels. [Washingtonian]

  • A show about street food is coming to Netflix. [Eater]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • One thing the Cultural Plan doesn’t really address: preserving go-go playing in the streets. [CityLab]

  • The Scene Report: new tunes from Max D, Model Home, and Jeremy Hyman. [WCP]

  • A new Wammies, but some of the same old problems. [DC Line]

  • How Christylez Bacon turned stage fright into inspiration. [Post]

  • Film review: the newHellboy reboot sucks. [WCP]

  • Film review: The Chaperone makes the case that prestige TV should stay on the small screen. [WCP]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • It’ll take $2 billion, not $1 billion, to fix public housing in D.C. [Twitter]

  • On an effort to make Barry Farm a historic site. [Twitter]

  • And another update from Barry Farm tenants. [WAMU]

  • AirBnb renters loot furniture and other items from an upscale home, police say. [Post]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Nicklas Backstrom scores twice and the Caps hang on to win Game 1 against the Carolina Hurricanes, 4-2. Game 2 will be tomorrow at 3 p.m. [ESPN]

  • Long-time Nats star Ryan Zimmerman chats with City Paper about his Caps fandom, what he thinks about D.C. as a sports town, and if he could see himself playing for another team. [WCP]

  • D.C. area soccer fans will get to see Mallory Pugh and the Washington Spirit in action 7 p.m. tomorrow at the Maryland SoccerPlex for the team’s season opener. [Montgomery Community Media]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

OFFICE OF FUTURE PLANNING

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.