Get local news delivered straight to your phone

It’ll be a cool, cloudy Wednesday in D.C. MPD is cracking down on … [clears throat] “pop-up pot parties.”

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

  • Eight families are suing the Washington Hebrew Congregation’s preschool, alleging that a teacher sexually abused multiple 3- and 4-year-old students. The lawsuit alleges that families began complaining about the teacher to the Cathedral Heights school’s Early Childhood Director, DJ Schneider Jensen, about one month into the teacher’s employment. It further alleges that those complaints continued for two years.

  • Beleaguered Ward 2 Councilmember Jack Evans’ political challenger, Patrick Kennedy, is the first candidate to try D.C.’s publicly-funded elections program. He found out that there are still a few wrinkles to iron out.

  • Two Metro cars came apart on Monday night; officials from the transit authority’s oversight board say they are actively overseeing an investigation.

  • For the first time, WAMU reports, Montgomery County’s Department of Health and Human Services notes a significant increase in the number of uninsured children seeking health care—a trend they’re linking to the number of immigrant children that were released from detention centers in early 2019.

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Longtime Post columnist Colby King to Mayor Muriel Bowseron Emancipation Day: “Stuff it.” [Twitter]

  • Funding drops for three embattled Virginia Democrats, but not for other Dems. [Post]

  • A Coast Guard lieutenant and self avowed white nationalist who is accused of planning an attack politicians and media personalities is asking a judge to reconsider his pretrial detention. [Post]

  • Arlington County really wants the DEA to stay. [WBJ]

  • Ron Moten is planning a go-go museum. [WTOP]

Support City Paper!

$
$
$

Your contribution is appreciated.

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Little Pearl is hosting one of Tokyo’s top ramen shops for a two-day pop-up in May. [WCP]

  • Drink this beer during this year’s Funk Parade. [DCist]

  • Kwame Onwuachi’s story is being described as a ‘stunning comeback.’ [NYT]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The Historical Society will have a new history center at the renovated Carnegie Library. [DCist]

  • Sesame Street will film in D.C. this summer, apparently. [WAMU]

  • What the Metro PCS go-go debacle tells us about gentrification in D.C. [Slate]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • D.C. housed the homeless in upscale apartments. It didn’t go as planned. [Post]

  • New renderings of Fort Totten’s Art Place development. [Urban Turf]

  • Montgomery County is expected to freeze new development despite a housing crunch. [WAMU]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The caps are playing a younger version of themselves in the hungry and talented Carolina Hurricanes. [WCP]

  • There will be pro boxing fights for the next six weekends in either D.C., Maryland, or Virginia, including bouts at the Rosecroft Raceway on Saturday, April 20. [WCP]

  • The Nats’ offense is basically Anthony Rendon. [NBC Sports Washington]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.