Get local news delivered straight to your phone

Happy Thursday, D.C. Mostly sunny and a chance of rain today. Also, pro tip: if you cancel a mac and cheese festival, people who purchased tickets will have a melt down.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • D.C. Attorney General Karl Racine to review the Metropolitan Police Department’s policies for interacting with juveniles. [WCP]

  • Some D.C. councilmembers are pushing back against Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan’s proposal to build toll lanes on highways that feed into the District. [Post]

  • Teachers at a D.C. charter school are trying to unionize. [WAMU]

  • Mayor Muriel Bowser announces plans to redesign K Street. [WAMU]

  • Va. Rep. Don Beyer is the first congressperson to jump on team Buttigieg. [Post]

  • Freshly installed D.C. schools Chancellor Lewis Ferebee plans $16 million in cuts to central office. [Post]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Support City Paper!

$
$
$

Your contribution is appreciated.

  • Bartenders dish on the D.C. dating scene from the bathroom bail to the lost art of in-person conversation. [WCP]

  • Do melting down mac and cheese fans deserve a refund to this festival? [WCP]

  • Astoria from the Copycat Co. team is now open in Dupont Circle. [PoPville]

  • Beloved bartender Judy Stevens died at age 79 on April 18. [Blade]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Attention nerds: D.C.’s own Comic Con—Awesome Con—returns this weekend. [Express]

  • Studio Theatre announces its 2019/2020 season. [DC Theatre Scene]

  • Up the punx (and pies): Breakin’ Even Fest returns. [DCist]

  • Film review: Hail Satan? is a wry, honest look at religious freedom. [WCP]

  • Film review: Avengers: Endgame is what happens when fan service goes wrong. [WCP]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Faced with a 60 percent rent increase, residents of a Columbia Heights apartment building consider their options. [WCP]

  • What $2,400 rents in D.C. right now. [Curbed]

  • Amazon leases nearly 48,000 more square feet from JBG Smith. [Urban Turf]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The defending Stanley Cup champions are heading into the off-season after a grueling, double-overtime loss in Game 7 to the Carolina Hurricanes. [CBS Sports]

  • Anyone can get into roller derby. Just ask the DC Rollergirls, the women’s flat track roller derby league in D.C. which prides itself in providing an inclusive and welcoming environment to anyone interested, regardless of their athletic background. The team will compete this Saturday, April 27 at the DC Armory beginning at 3:30 p.m. [WCP]

  • If the reports are true, expect Dan Snyder’s football team to shake things up at tonight’s NFL Draft. 106.7 The Fan’s Grant Paulsen says that Snyder has “taken over the first round of the draft.”

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.