Expect a cloudy Monday, D.C. with temps hovering around 70 degrees.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

  • Within four hours on Saturday night, there were four separate shootings across D.C., the Postreports. There is not evidence that the shootings were linked.

  • Prince George’s County public schools face a whopping $8.5 billion in maintenance and construction backlog, prompting count y leaders to weigh a public-private partnership to keep its schools well-maintained. It would be the first jurisdiction in the country to do so.

  • The D.C. Council recently held a hearing on a bill introduced by Ward 5 Councilmember Kenyan McDuffie that aims to achieve racial equity by requiring D.C. government employees to undergo racial equity training. It would also require the mayor’s office to include a racial equity-based performance metric in annual agency reports, among other initiatives.

  • It’s tough to have multiple kids in the D.C. area—just ask these locals, who have twins and triplets. “It’s not twice as hard with two; I think it’s five times as hard,” says one Petworth mother.

  • What’s good with Rick Younger? The Mean Girls actor on how D.C. makes people stronger, the difference between talents and gifts, being black, and being 50.

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

LL is away from his desk and will return next week.

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Eater’s Digest: The vegetarian tiffin box at Cane on H Street NE. [WCP]

  • Could Michael Schlow’s Prima be the next Cava? [Washingtonian]

  • Masseria is serving a tasting menu that’s a trip back in time in D.C. dining. [Post]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Remembering local jazz legend Fred Foss. [WCP]

  • The Washington Jewish Film Festival and Washington Jewish Music Festival have merged into the inaugural JXJ Festival. [DCist]

  • Take the first steps into D.C.’s thriving social dance scene. [Express]

  • Suns Cinema is expanding. [DCist]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin(tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • What’s considered “middle class” in D.C.? [Curbed]

  • The Office of Planning announces a new home repair grant program for low- and middle-income homeowners who live in historic districts. [Urban Turf]

  • The Zoning Commission agreed to extend zoning approvals for a portion of the McMillan Sand Filtration site project. [WBJ]

  • Luxury at its “absolute finest.” [WCP]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Why NFL rookie Dwayne Haskins Jr. wearing Joe Theismann’s jersey number is a good thing, according to City Paper contributor Matt Terl.

  • Mystics training camp is here. The team will start its season on the road against the Connecticut Sun on May 25. [NBC Sports Washington]

  • Matt Adams is the latest player to land on the injured list for the struggling Nationals. [ESPN]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.