Happy Thursday, D.C. The good news? Bluejays. The bad news? Allergies.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Chairman Phil Mendelson’s budget report makes changes to FOIA that would protect councilmembers’ private business conducted on government servers. Hmmm this feels familiar… [Post]

  • Mendelson is not a fan of Mayor Muriel Bowser’s proposed tax hikes. [WBJ]

  • It has been one year since D’Quan Young was shot and killed by an off-duty MPD officer, who the department still has not identified. Young’s family will hold a vigil in his memory this evening. [WCP, Facebook]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • BBQ Bus Smokehouse must relocate to make room for a 49-unit affordable housing building. [WCP]

  • A fire at Ballston restaurant Dirt injured several on Tuesday. [ArlNow]

  • How restaurants and bars are using pollen as an ingredient. [DCist]

  • The Trump Hotel’s liquor license is being challenged once again. [Washingtonian]

  • Former Palena and Mirabelle Chef Frank Ruta joins Ashok Bajaj’s restaurant group. [Post]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Go-go vs. gentrification. [Post]

  • The Korean Film Fest celebrates its 15th year. [WCP]

  • Film review: Detective Pikachu only half-earns its weird existence. [WCP]

  • Experience Unlimited’s debut record Free Yourself is back in print. [Post]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Anita Bonds and Muriel Bowser spar over $8.5 million in HPTF funds. [Twitter]

  • A subsidiary of SunTrust spends $10 million on JBG Smith’s affordable housing initiative. [WBJ]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Injuries, an overwhelmed second-year manager, and a struggling bullpen all add up to make the Nationals one of the worst teams in the MLB. [Yahoo]

  • The Wizards have a 9 percent chance to land the No. 1 overall pick in the NBA Draft and the chance to select Zion Williamson, who NBC Sports Washington’s Ben Standig argues would become “the most mesmerizing athlete playing in D.C.”

  • Despite injuries to several players, including defender Donovan Pines, D.C. United did not do much to address its needs during the MLS transfer window. [Pro Soccer USA]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.

More from WCP