Sign up for our free newsletter

Free D.C. news, delivered to your inbox daily.

Good morning, D.C. Wednesday looks to be sunny with temperatures in the 70s.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

  • Councilmembers Vince Gray and Trayon White, who represent Wards 7 and 8 respectively, do not agree on the eventual closure of the city’s public hospital in Southeast.

  • Famed economist Alice Rivlin helped pull D.C. out of its financial crisis and out from under the Financial Control Board. She died yesterday at 88. Former Mayor Tony Williams remembers the “time and effort and soul” she put into D.C.

  • The occupation of the Venezualian embassy in Georgetown has dwindled to just four activists after Secret Service officers posted an eviction notice on the door.

  • The alt-right rooftop pool party at the Penthouse Pool Club isn’t happening after all.

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • D.C. councilmembers narrowly reject budget changes involving a controversial school relocation. [Post]

  • Fairfax County board member Jeff McKay is facing allegations that he traded a political favor for a real-estate deal. McKay denies all wrongdoing.[WAMU]

  • Mayor Muriel Bowser wants control of the D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities. The Council isn’t giving it to her. [DC Line]

  • ICYMI: What happened To Unsuck D.C. Metro? [Washingtonian]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Virginia’s Red Hen one year after the restaurant kicked out Sarah Sanders. [Eater]

  • Have a spritz at Don Ciccio’s new bar. [DCist]

  • Where to drink next level gin and tonics. [DC Refined]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Washington Chorus’s new music director, Christopher Bell, will step down after his three-year contract expires in 2020. [Post]

  • Good news: Joy Zinoman’s Studio Acting Conservatory has found a new home in Columbia Heights. [Washingontian]

  • The winners, losers, and unforgettable moments of the 2019 Helen Hayes Awards. [WCP]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Housing Complex is away from her desk and will return next week.

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The Wizards had a 9 percent chance to land the No. 1 overall pick. Instead, they’re selecting ninth in June’s NBA Draft. Three teams jumped ahead of them during the NBA Draft Lottery. NBC Sports Washington beat reporter Chase Hughes called it “essentially the worst-case scenario” for the Wizards. [WTOP]

  • Georgetown football alum Janne Kouri will finish his cross country journey from Manhattan Beach, California to D.C. today around noon at Georgetown University. Kouri is riding his motorized wheelchair across the country to raise awareness and money for those living with paralysis. [Patch]

  • The D.C. Council’s finance and revenue committee is concerned about the delays to the citywide sports gambling app, which will now launch no earlier than January 2020. [WCP]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.