Get our free newsletter

Expect a much cooler afternoon than what the District saw yesterday, with a high of 72 degrees and lots of cloud cover.

LEADING THE MORNING NEWS:

  • Planned Parenthood is sponsoring a protest in front of the Supreme Court today at noon, rallying against the spate of strict anti-abortion bills passed in a number of state legislatures this spring. “While Alabama may be the latest assault on abortion rights, we have seen 15 state bans over the last five months. This isn’t a coincidence—this is an attempt to ban abortion outright,” the organization says in a press release.

  • The effort to recall Jack Evans from office can move forward, the D.C. Board of Elections decided.

  • Who runs the ubiquitous Twitter account @unsuckDCmetro, and why has the person behind it gotten away with anonymity for so long? DCist writer Rachel Kurzius tackles those questions in an examination of the evolving role the account has played in transportation accountability.

  • And, speaking of Metro, its board approved the extension of Yellow Line service to Greenbelt, which will begin a month early this summer.

  • Should the D.C. Council allow some D.C. residents to write parking tickets? The Post’s Petula Dvorak thinks not.

LOOSE LIPS LINKS, by Mitch Ryals (tips? mryals@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Councilmember Jack Evans’ second challenger says he already qualifies for public campaign funds. Jordan Grossman raised the money in just four days. [WCP]

  • We might have two Fourth of July celebrations because someone has to make a speech or whatever. [DCist]

  • A new coalition pushing for D.C. statehood launches today. [NBC]

YOUNG & HUNGRY LINKS, by Laura Hayes (tips? lhayes@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • D.C.’s first ‘nightlife mayor,’ steps into the role just as the city turns up the volume on cultural preservation. [WCP]

  • Erik Bruner-Yang’s next project is a Navy Yard all-day cafe. [Washingtonian]

  • A definitive hot dog ranking just before Memorial Day weekend. [Post]

ARTS LINKS, by Matt Cohen (tips? mcohen@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • Changes are coming to Arts Desk! [WCP]

  • At the Phillips Collection, Ranjani Shettar’s wooden sculptures dazzle. [DCist]

  • Gauche debuts a new single. Spoiler alert: It’s a bop. [Stereogum]

  • Members of the DC Arts Forum annotate DCCAH executive director’s interview with the Afro. [Afro]

HOUSING COMPLEX LINKS, by Morgan Baskin (tips? mbaskin@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • The National Park Service is proposing changes to the White House grounds. [WBJ]

  • Arlington County’s board approved a bill to loosen restrictions around building detached ADUs. [Urban Turf]

  • The Southwest Library will close on June 1 for renovation. [Curbed]

SPORTS LINKS, by Kelyn Soong (tips? ksoong@washingtoncitypaper.com)

  • No, thanks: The Wizards’ GM front-runner Tim Connelly turned down the job just days after reportedly being offered it. The Wizards are back again to square one. [Wiz of Awes]

  • Washington football team linebacker Reuben Foster “is believed to have suffered a torn ACL,” which happened during the first day of organized team activities. [NFL.com]

  • The Nats are making moves to their bullpen again. [MASN]

HAPPENING TODAY, by Kayla Randall (tips? krandall@washingtoncitypaper.com)

Sign up: To get District Line Daily—or any of our other email newsletters—sent straight to your mailbox, click here. Send tips, ideas, and comments to newsletter@washingtoncitypaper.com.